Part of the Glyn Academies Trust

Early Years Foundation Stage

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.

This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.
Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

What is the EYFS Framework – why do we have one?

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early years experts and parents.
In 2012 the framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use, with more focus on the things that matter most. This new framework also has a greater emphasis on your role in helping your child develop.

What are the areas of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage?

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the educational programmes in all early years settings.  

The Three Prime Areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. They are as follows: 

  •  Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups and to have confidence in their own abilities. 
  •  Communication, and language involves giving children opportunities to  experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations. 
  • Physical development involves children being provided with opportunities to be active and interactive and to develop their coordination, control and movement; children are also made aware of the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

The Four Specific Areas are as follows and through these areas the three prime areas are strengthened and applied: 

  • Literacy involves encouraging pupils to link sounds and letters and begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials to ignite their interest. 
  • Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and to describe shape, space and measures. 
  • Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment. 
  • Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play, and design and technology. 

By promoting and developing skills in these areas we are underpinning all future learning.  However, we do appreciate that children’s learning is not divided up like this and that one experience may provide an opportunity to learn from several areas.  All areas are important and inter-connected. 

Children learn in different ways and deepen their understanding by playing, talking, observing, planning, questioning, experimenting, testing, repeating, reflecting and responding to adults and each other.  As the curriculum explains, “play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults”.

Phonics and Reading

Reading with your child at home can be tricky, beginning to read is a frustrating process!

To make at home more fun... try these tips

1) Sit in a comfy, quiet place together.

2) Cover up the whole sentence and focus on one word at a time.

3) Talk about what is happening in the picture to understand the story.

4) Use voices for the different characters.

5) Watch the video below to help your child to sound out the letters to blend the words together. 

Phonics video 

Phonics play - Try some fun online phonics games! 

Links and downloads:

Our home learning sheets can be found and downloaded at the bottom of this page. Please fill them in so we can add them to your child's Learning Journey. 

Useful Information:

  • All children in EYFS are entitiled to daily free milk. However, we can only give your child milk if you signed up in the welcome pack or have registered online at  - Follow the link to register! 
  • Our PE day is a Wednesday, please make sure your child has their PE kit in school and that everything is named.



Page Downloads